Volunteers support the Heart of Illinois United Way by coordinating workplace campaigns, serving in GENeration United and Youth United, serving on grant review panels, helping with labor events or overseeing marketing and finance.

Annual Campaign Chairs and Cabinet

2019 Campaign Co-Charis, Patrick Urich and Brooke Spellman

Patrick Urich

As the Peoria City Manager, Urich is responsible for overseeing the day-to-day activities of the City of Peoria, including the $208 million budget, 14 departments, and approximately 660 full-time and part-time employees; and instilling the value of excellence in public service within the organization. Mr. Urich has spent eighteen years in local government service in Peoria. He served ten years as the Peoria County Administrator before becoming the 18th City Manager for the City of Peoria in 2011.

Brooke Spellman

As the Principal Associate with Abt Associates, Spellman is a national leader with more than 20 years of experience conducting research and developing strategies to improve policy and programmatic responses to homelessness and poverty. Her work focuses on strategic planning, system-level and program-level service delivery, research and evaluation, technical assistance and training, performance measurement, outcomes-based funding and grants management for local government and nonprofits related to homelessness, the CoC planning processes, and HMIS.

Heart of Illinois United Way Campaign Cabinet

The Campaign Cabinet is a group of leaders dedicated to engaging the community for a successful annual campaign.

Campaign Chairs
Brooke E. Spellman, Abt Associates
Patrick F. Urich, City of Peoria

Campaign Vice-Chairs
Seth A. Davis, RLI
Sylvia Davis, Traders Realty Corp.

Caterpillar Employee United Way Appeal
Erika C. Kempf, Caterpillar

GENeration United
Haley Krus, Bradley University

Don Johnson, Goodwill Industries of Central Illinois
John Sutherland, River City Construction, LLC

Pillars Society Chairs
Karl and Jill Weiss, Caterpillar

Tocqueville Society Chairs
Leonard W. Sachs, Howard & Howard Attorneys PLLC
Sally P. Snyder, Community Volunteer

Volunteer Training
Erica K. Baird, Caterpillar

Campaign Divisions

Accounting Division
Daniel Bender, CliftonLarsonAllen LLP
Michael W. Nitz, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Architects and Engineers Division
Dan Gavin, Farnsworth Group, Inc.
Jamie Moehling, Dewberry

Business Services Division
Matt Coulter, Peoria Disposal Company
Michael R. Keene, Ameren Illinois
James Weekley, Commerce Bank

Construction and Manufacturing Division
Cody Gerdes, River City Construction, LLC
Charles Kim, CORE Construction
John E. McKinley, Mexichem Specialty Resins

Finance, Insurance, and Real Estate Division
Kevin J. Anderson, PNC
Pamela A. Cain, Illinois National Bank
Patrick D. Ferrell, RLI

Legal Division
Robert Brandfass, OSF HealthCare
Gregory A. Cerulo, Quinn, Johnston, Henderson, Pretorius & Cerulo
Tim Gronewold, Howard & Howard Attorneys PLLC
Maureen T. Mulville, Illinois Mutual

Medical Division
Patricia J. Bash, Community Volunteer
Anne Bowman, UnityPoint Health – Central Illinois
Michelle A. Carrothers, OSF HealthCare

Retail and Commerce Division
Joshua Bennett, CEFCU
Jim Burwitz, Kuhl Insurance

Service Industries Division
Nathan P. Thomas, Bradley University
Lee Shaw Jr., Boy Scouts of America – W.D. Boyce Council

Union Treasuries Division
Clinton J. Drury, West Central Illinois Building & Construction Trades Council
Bill Stieglitz, Plasterers Cement Masons Local 18